Neon Indian Reveals Era Extraña Details, Including "Polish Girl" Download

Categories: CD Preview

Era Extraña, the highly anticipated sophomore album from Neon Indian
​September 13 may just come to define new music for all of 2011 -- St. Vincent, Blitzen Trapper, Wooden Shjips and Neon Indian all have new albums due out. No one album, however, is as anticipated as the sophomore effort from Neon IndianEra Extraña. Alan Palomo, the man behind Neon Indian, spent this past winter in Helsinki writing and recording what would eventually become Extraña, adding all the more intrigue to an already fascinating musician in Palomo.

In anticipation of the album, Palomo has made the track "Polish Girl" available via iTunes, joining the already available track "Fallout" as early tastes of what's to come for Era Extraña.

The album has been described as "a darker shaded sound document that tosses somewhere between an 8-bit shoegaze record and peering through the fence of a teenage apocalypse drive-in flick." As well, Palomo's winter stint in Helsinki took place during the city's short solstice days, with Palomo holing up in an efficiency apartment in complete solitude. Reflecting on his time there, Palomo said, "It's the closest you can get to feeling like you're at the edge of the earth. And there were moments where I lost sight of what I was really there to do." I don't think Era Extraña is going to be a Psychic Chasms II, if you will -- especially given the rather dark tone of the aforementioned "Fallout."

Fans who choose to preorder the album have the interesting option of securing their own custom synth, the PAL 198X -- something Palomo developed with the folks at Austin's Bleep Labs. Described as "a triple triangle-wave oscillator noisemaking device with interchangeable controls for maximal sonic contortion," the PAL 198X can interact with a whole assortment of every day household items -- even, as described, your pet. To this, Palomo added, "Basically, I want you to hack this fucking thing." Head to to find out more about the PAL 198X.

Era Extraña is out 9/13 via Palomo's own Static Tongues imprint in conjunction with Mom + Pop Records. Track listing is as follows:

1. Heart: Attack
2. Polish Girl
3. Blindside Kiss
4. Hex Girlfriend
5. Heart: Decay
6. Fall Out
7. Era Extraña
8. Halogen (I Could Be a Shadow)
9. Future Sick
10. Suns Irrupt
11. Heart: Release

Follow us on Twitter and friend us on Facebook

Sponsor Content

My Voice Nation Help

Hey Michael, are you still doing the YAFI reviews I sent you a cd a couple months ago. If not let me know

Jason P. Woodbury
Jason P. Woodbury

 We are no longer doing YAFI in the format that we used to. Would you mind sending an email to with the info about your band?

Now Trending

Phoenix Concert Tickets

From the Vault