New Moon Soundtrack Hits the Interwebs

The New Moon Soundtrack features contributions from Grizzly Bear, Muse, Thom Yorke and Death Cab For Cutie
​All of the sudden, the soundtrack for the newest movie in the Twilight Saga, New Moon,  turned into an indie rock/hipster collective. Jump-started by the Death Cab For Cutie single "Equinox," the Paramores and Linkin Parks of the previous movie's soundtrack were replaced with the likes of Bon Iver, Thom Yorke, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club and Lykke Li. It was an intriguing move, one that elicited some serious indie-cred consideration when the final track list was announced. Over the weekend, sometime early Sunday morning, the soundtrack was leaked and everyone got their first taste of just what fruit this impressive collection would bear.

It seems that Thom Yorke's contribution is the most anticipated of the bunch, since anything he does these days is reported to an obsessive degree (thanks, Pitchfork). His song, "Hearing Damage" sounds right in line with the sound he created on his solo debut The Eraser

Joining Yorke is a remixed/shortened version of the insanely catchy "I Belong To You" from British rockers Muse, Bon Iver joining forces with St. Vincent, a downtempo offering from always peppy rockers OK Go and a perfectly dark and ominous song from the British band Editors. The soundtrack shows exactly what the tone of the movie will be -- dark, demure with a healthy offering of angst. What else would we expect from Ella, Edward, Jacob and Stephenie Meyer?

The Twilight Saga: New Moon is out 10/20 via Atlantic.

Sponsor Content

My Voice Nation Help
Sort: Newest | Oldest

Now Trending

Phoenix Concert Tickets

From the Vault