Musical Instrument Museum Going Cinematic With First Annual Film Series (Trailers Included)

Categories: Film and TV
layaproject.jpg
A scene from Laya Project
Phoenix's Musical Instrument Museum announced this week that it's expanding its globally focused M.O. to include celluloid features.


Set to debut later this month, the series will include flicks that document worldwide sonic efforts, ranging from a Steinway workshop in New York to the post-tsunami musical communities of Sri Lanka, Thailand, Indonesia, Maldives, Myanmar, and India.

(schedule information and trailers after the jump)

Here's the subject-to-change lineup with trailers:

Bach & Friends
Saturday, October 23, at 2:30 p.m.
Thursday, October 28, at 6:30 p.m.



Laya Project
Saturday, November 6, at 2:30 p.m.
Thursday, November 11, at 6:30 p.m.



Sound Tracks: Music Without Borders
Sunday, December 5, at 2:30 p.m. (Marco Werman of National Public Radio's The World hosts)
Friday, December 17, at 6:30 p.m.



Mighty Uke
Saturday, January 8, 2011, at 2:30 p.m.
Friday, January 14, 2011, at 6:30 p.m.



nömadak tx
Saturday, February 5, 2011, at 2:30 p.m.
Thursday, February 24, 2011, at 6:30 p.m.



Note by Note: The Making of Steinway L1037
Sunday, March 20, 2011, at 2:30 p.m. (filmmaker Ben Niles will be in attendance)


My Voice Nation Help
0 comments
Sort: Newest | Oldest

Now Trending

Phoenix Concert Tickets

From the Vault

 

Health & Beauty

Loading...